CSK vs GT, Qualifier 1, IPL 2023
CSK players pose for a team photo ahead of their IPL 2023 Qualifier 1 match against GT in Chennai on Tuesday (May 23). Photo: BCCI/IPL

IPL 2023 final: MS Dhoni-led CSK’s record in previous 9 IPL finals

  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram

Former champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Gujarat Titans (GT) will contest the IPL 2023 final on Sunday (May 28) at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Also read: IPL 2023: Dhoni answers big question on his retirement

There are speculations that the title clash would be CSK captain MS Dhoni’s final appearance as an IPL player. However, recently, when asked about his retirement, Dhoni did not reveal much and only said he will take a call on it later, just before the mini-auction.

Also read: Full list of Shubman Gill’s 8 centuries in 2023

While all eyes will be on Dhoni and his team, GT, on their home ground will be a tough opponent with Shubman Gill’s roaring form and the bowling trio of Mohammed Shami, Rashid Khan and Mohit Sharma leading the wicket-takers list for the season.

Both the Orange and Purple Caps are with the GT team. Gill is the leading run scorer in the tournament with 851 runs while Shami has 28 wickets. Rashid has 27 scalps followed by Mohit with 24.

Also read: IPL 2023 final: Rules for rain-hit matches

After having won their Qualifier 2 against Mumbai Indians (MI), GT will be high on confidence. However, CSK know the art of making the finals and also how to win them.

CSK have already won four IPL titles, all under Dhoni, and will be aiming to match the all-time record of five, held by Mumbai Indians.

Also read: IPL 2023 closing ceremony performers list, and other details

Dhoni, the master tactician, will be at work again on Sunday to script another title triumph for the yellow brigade. After all, he knows how to get the best out of his players. CSK possess a proud finals record, having previously been in nine summit clashes.

In IPL’s inaugural edition in 2008, CSK made the final but lost to the Shane Warne-led Rajasthan Royals (RR) in a thrilling last-ball finish at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Also read: IPL 2023 final tickets: Chaos at Narendra Modi Stadium

Looking back at that final, Dhoni and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja were on opposite sides. Now, both will feature for CSK in this year’s final. They are the only two from the inaugural IPL 2028 title clash to feature again in the IPL 2023 final, the 16th edition of the tournament.

From IPLs 2008 to 2023, Dhoni has been a fan favourite, and continues to be one. Will he hoist the IPL trophy for the fifth time in front of 1 lakh-plus spectators at the Narendra Modi Stadium?

Also read: IPL 2023: Gritty story of how CSK bounced back from last year’s debacle

CSK’s record in IPL finals (Played 9, Won 5, Lost 4)

  • 2008 (Runners-up) – Lost to Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 3 wickets
  • 2010 (Champions) – Won by 22 runs against Mumbai Indians (MI)
  • 2011 (Champions) – Won by 58 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  • 2012 (Runners-up) – Lost to Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by 5 wickets
  • 2013 (Runners-up) – Lost by 23 runs to Mumbai Indians
  • 2015 (Runners-up) – Lost by 41 runs to Mumbai Indians
  • 2018 (Champions) – Won by 8 wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
  • 2019 (Runners-up) – Lost by 1 run against Mumbai Indians
  • 2021 (Champions) – Won by 27 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2023 – ?
Read More
Next Story