FIFA World Cup quarter-finals teams and schedule

The quarter-finals of the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar will begin on December 9.

Lionel Messi FIFA World Cup 2022 Round of 16
Argentina captain Lionel Messi celebrates a goal during their FIFA World Cup 2022 Round of 16 match against Australia on Sunday (December 4). Photo: Twitter/FIFA

The Round of 16 phase is over at the FIFA World Cup 2022 in Qatar. Now it’s time for the quarter-finals. Eight teams remain in the competition.

Also read: Full coverage of FIFA World Cup 2022

The teams that have qualified for FIFA World Cup 2022 quarter-finals:

1. The Netherlands


The Dutch team beat the USA 3-1 to become the first team to reach the last-eight phase of the World Cup.

2. Argentina

Following the Netherlands in the quarter-finals was Lionel Messi-led Argentina as the two-time champion edged Australia 2-1.

3. France

Defending champion France rode on two goals from Kylian Mbappe to defeat Poland 3-1 in the last 16 contest. Mbappe, at the age of 23, has now scored 9 World Cup goals.

4. England

England defeated Senegal 3-0 to set up a last-eight meeting with France.

5. Croatia

2018 edition runner-up Croatia edged Japan 3-1 on penalties after both teams were tied 1-1 in 120 minutes.

6. Brazil

Five-time champion Brazil thrashed South Korea 4-1 to reach the last 8.

7. Morocco

Morocco stunned Spain 3-0 on penalties after it was 0-0 in 120 minutes. Morocco is in last 8 for the first time.

8. Portugal

Portugal demolished Switzerland 6-1 to reach the last eight stage.

FIFA World Cup 2022 quarter-finals schedule (All times IST)

December 9

8:30 PM: Croatia vs Brazil

December 10

12:30 AM: The Netherlands vs Argentina

8:30 PM: Morocco vs Portugal

December 11

12:30 AM: France vs England

Also read: Records, stats, key numbers from group stage of Qatar World Cup