Mizoram: 76 candidates in fray for May 9 Chakma Autonomous District Council polls

While the ruling MNF and opposition BJP have fielded 20 candidates each, the Congress has fielded 22 candidates, two as substitutes, and ZPM 13 nominees

5.21 per cent polling has been recorded till 9 am in Jalandhar Lok Sabha bypoll. Over 9 per cent voting recorded till 9 am in Jharsuguda bypoll I Representational image.

As many as 76 candidates have filed their nominations for the Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) elections in Mizoram slated for May 9.

The CADC was created in 1972 for the Chakma tribes in the south-western part of Mizoram.

The results will be declared on May 11.

Also read: Study declares Mizoram the happiest state in India; find out why

Mizoram State Election Commission Deputy Secretary R Vanrengpuia told PTI that the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) and opposition BJP have fielded 20 candidates each.

The Congress has filed 22 candidates, two as substitutes, while Zoram Peoples Movement (ZPM) has given tickets to 13 nominees, he said.

One independent candidate has also filed nomination for the council polls, he said.

Vanrengpuia said that Congress filing two substitute candidates is a normal procedure and it was done to fill in void in case some nominees don’t clear the scrutiny.

If all the Congress nominees clear the scrutiny, the two substitute nominees will be dropped from the list, he said.

Of the 20 MNF nominees, 10 are incumbent members, while ZPM fielded five incumbent members and Congress one. The BJP has also fielded an incumbent member and a former minister.

Also read: Mizoram emerges as epicentre of refugee influx in 2022; here are the numbers

A total of 35,885 voters, including 17,677 women, are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls in which EVMs will be used.

The CADC was created under the sixth schedule of the Constitution in 1972 for the welfare of the Chakma tribal people in Mizoram.

The council has 24 constituencies, of which four are nominated seats.

The last council polls held in April 2018 threw up a hung house with the MNF emerging as the single-largest party by winning eight seats, while the Congress bagged six and the BJP won five seats.

Later, the Congress’s tally increased to seven after it won a constituency, which was countermanded at the time of the elections.

Also read: History of rats, famines and political upheavals comes to bite Mizoram

The council came under a complete MNF rule after all members of the BJP and the Congress defected to the former. However, in December 2022, the governor’s rule was imposed in the council area due to political instability. The council is not bound by anti-defection law.