LIVE: Single-phase Karnataka Assembly polls on May 10; results on May 13

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar asked the officials to step up the seizures with support from adjoining border states to ensure inducement-free election. File photo

The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday (March 29) announced the schedule for the Karnataka Legislative Assembly elections. The single-phase elections will be held on May 10 and the results will be declared on May 13.

The term of the 224-member, BS Bommai-led Karnataka Assembly ends on May 24.

The EC made the announcement at a press conference at Plenary Hall, Vigyan Bhawan, Delhi.

Watch | The Federal Webinar: Karnataka’s Game of Thrones

Karnataka has around 5.24 crore registered voters, of which 9.17 lakh are first-time voters. There will be 58,282 polling stations for the upcoming election with 50% of them having webcasting facility.

The Bommai government is trying to retain power in Karnataka, relying on the Kannadigas issue and the state government’s recent decision to scrap a religion-based reservation for the Muslim community.

Along with the Karnataka Assembly polls, bypolls will be held in Punjab, Odisha, Uttar Pradesh, and Meghalaya on May 10. Bypolls will be held at Jalandhar parliamentary constituency in Punjab, Jharsuguda Assembly constituency in Odisha, Chhanbey and Suar Assembly constituencies in UP, and Sohiong Assembly constituency in Meghalaya. Results will be declared on May 13.

Regarding the Wayanad bypoll following Rahul Gandhi’s disqualification, the EC said there was still time. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said, “Section 151 of RP Act provides that whenever we have a vacancy, the by-election has to be held within six months from the date of vacancy. The vacancy occurred on March 23. So, we have six months to hold the by-election. The trial court has given (Rahul) 30 days for judicial remedy and, therefore, there is no hurry to do it (conduct the bypoll for Wayanad LS seat) before exhausting that remedy which the trial court has afforded.”

The Federal has published some extensive reports on the political scene in Karnataka. In case you missed them, here are a few:

Seeking separate religion, Lingayats return to their radical roots

Muslim leaders to move court against abolition of 4% quota

Unsure of Hindutva sentiments, BJP on a statue-building spree

Lingayats, Sangh Parivar lock horns over Vivekananda memorial in Mysuru