Andhra Pradesh may have three capitals, indicates CM Jagan

Andhra Pradesh, NRC
The party said credit for the victory should go to the welfare schemes of Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy | File photo: PTI

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy on Tuesday (December 17) indicated that the state could have three capitals as decentralisation was a real concept.

Replying to a short discussion on the state capital issue in the Legislative Assembly, the Chief Minister said the existing capital Amaravati could become the “Legislative Capital,” port city Visakhapatnam the “Executive Capital” and Kurnool the “Judiciary Capital.”

“We may have three different capitals. They are required. We have to think on those lines seriously,” he said but added that a final call would be taken only after the expert committee constituted to look into the issue submitted its report.

Also read: Why bureaucracy in Andhra Pradesh is in a mess

The Committee report is expected in the next few days. Indicating that the government (Secretariat and heads of departments) could shift to Visakhapatnam, the Chief Minister pointed out that the port has the required facilities.

“Vizag has all the facilities. Only Metro (rail) is required,” Jagan noted. Stating that development of Amaravati into a full-fledged capital city required at least Rs one lakh crore, the Chief Minister wondered where the money would come from.

(With PTI inputs)