Delayed by roadshow, Kejriwal fails to file nomination for Delhi polls

However, the chief minister says the job will be done on Tuesday, the last day for filing nominations

Arvind Kejriwal
Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal shows victory sign at a crowd of supporters during a roadshow in New Delhi | Photo: Twitter

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Monday (January 20) could not file his nomination for the upcoming assembly election since he failed to reach the venue on time. However, he said he would get it done on Tuesday, which is the last day for filing nominations for the February 8 election.

Kejriwal was supposed to file his nomination on Monday at the end of a grand roadshow, but got delayed due to his rally. Candidates are required to reach the Election Commissioner’s office and file his nomination papers by 3 pm.

Also read | Will AAP’s quirky social media tactics translate into more votes?

“How could I leave them and go?” Kejriwal said, referring to his supporters present at the roadshow. “I’ll file the nomination tomorrow,” he told reporters.

His roadshow started from the iconic Valmiki Mandir and was supposed to culminate at the election office. It was meant to pass through the roads of the chief minister’s New Delhi constituency, but it got delayed while making its way through a crowded Connaught Place.

Arvind Kejriwal
AAP leaders Arvind Kejriwal and Manish Sisodia waving at a crowd of supporters during a roadshow in New Delhi | Photo: Twitter

Also read | Kejriwal releases guarantee card; promises free bus rides for students

Scores of supporters walked in the rally holding brooms as he waved to them and flashed the victory sign amid chants “acchhe beete panch saal, lage raho Kejriwal (five years went well, go on Kejriwal)”. He was accompanied by his family. Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and AAP leader Sanjay Singh also joined him.

Meanwhile, Leader of Opposition in the outgoing Delhi Assembly, Vijender Gupta, filed his nomination on Monday. Gupta, a sitting MLA from Rohini, filed his paper from the same seat. He was accompanied by Hans Raj Hans, party MP from North West Delhi.

(With inputs from agencies)

Also read | AAP releases candidate list for Delhi elections, 46 get second chance

Also read | BJP releases names of 57 candidates for Delhi assembly polls