Umran Malik sets new pace record; here is the list of fastest IPL deliveries
Umran Malik with his award for bowling the fastest delivery during SRH-CSK game. Photo: BCCI/IPL

Umran Malik sets new pace record; here is the list of fastest IPL deliveries

  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s (SRH) fast bowler Umran Malik continued to hog the limelight in the ongoing IPL and has now set a new record for the season.

In the match against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Sunday (May 1), Malik bowled the fastest delivery of IPL 2022, thus breaking Gujarat Titans’ (GT) paceman Lockie Ferguson’s mark. Malik has consistently bowled at 145 kmph and above.

Also read: Exclusive: Irfan Pathan speaks on on Umran Malik

Malik sent down two deliveries against CSK that were clocked at 154 kmph. One was bowled to opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad (99) while the other to CSK captain MS Dhoni (8).

Gaikwad had sent that pacy delivery to the boundary while the yorker to Dhoni was played for a single.

Despite the record deliveries, Malik could not add to his wicket tally and went for 48 runs in his four-over spell.

Also read: Take Umran Malik in Indian team for England series, says Gavaksar

The match at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium in Pune was won by CSK by 13 runs after posting 202/2. This was Dhoni’s first match after being re-appointed as the skipper following Ravindra Jadeja’s resignation.

The fastest balls bowled in IPL 2022 so far. Photo: Twitter

After the game, Malik won the award for ‘Fastest delivery of the match’. He took home a cheque of Rs 1 lakh. So far in IPL 2022, Malik has taken 15 wickets in nine matches. His best was 5/25 against Gujarat Titans.

When it comes to the fastest ball bowled in the history of IPL, the record is owned by Australia’s Shaun Tait. He clocked 157.71 kmph while playing for Rajasthan Royals (RR) against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in IPL 2011.

Also read: Umran Malik bowls triple-wicket maiden in last over, SRH wins

Meanwhile, CSK fans celebrated at the stadium and on social media as they welcomed back Dhoni as the captain. There were plenty of reactions on Twitter after CSK won.

Fastest deliveries in the history of IPL

  • 157.71 kmph – Shaun Tait
  • 156.22 kmph, 155.21 kmph, 154.74 kmph – Anrich Nortje
  • 154.4 kmph – Dale Steyn
  • 154.23 kmph – Kagiso Rabada
  • 154.21 kmph – Nortje
  • 154 kmph – Umran Malik
Read More
Next Story