ICC World Cup 2023: Full schedule, venues of ‘biggest WC ever’

ICC World Cup 2023: Full schedule, venues of ‘biggest WC ever’

  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday (June 27) announced the schedule for the ICC ODI World Cup 2023 in Mumbai.

Ten teams feature in what is touted to be the biggest Cricket World Cup ever, to be played across 10 venues in India from October 5 to November 19, with the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad hosting the tournament opener and the final.

The other nine venues are Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, and Pune. Guwahati and Thiruvananthapuram will join Hyderabad in hosting the practice games.

Also read: World Cup 2023: India’s full schedule of 9 league games

Defending champions England will take on New Zealand in a much-awaited clash between the 2019 World Cup finalists that opens the tournament in Ahmedabad, while hosts India will face-off against five-time winners Australia in Chennai on October 8.

Ahmedabad will also host matches between traditional rivals India and Pakistan (October 15) and Australia and England (November 4).

Eight teams have qualified for the 46-day event through the Cricket World Cup Super League while the final two spots will be taken by the finalists of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier taking place in Zimbabwe.

The tournament retains the round-robin format of last time with all teams playing against each other for 45 league matches. There are six day matches, which will start at 10.30 am IST, while all other matches, including the knockouts, will be day-night fixtures starting at 2 pm IST.

The top four teams will qualify for the semifinals, to be played in Mumbai on November 15 and in Kolkata on November 16. The semi-finals and the final will have reserve days.

ICC Chief Executive, Geoff Allardice said: “We are delighted to release the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 schedule which is always a huge occasion ahead of any global event.

“Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be part of what we hope will be the greatest ever Men’s Cricket World Cup and we know in India the teams will enjoy a unique electric atmosphere concluding with the winners lifting the trophy in the biggest cricket stadium in the world in Ahmedabad.”

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah said: “It’s a matter of great honour and pride to be hosting the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in different cities across India, showcasing the rich diversity of our country.

“The fervour and passion for cricket in India is unique. I am sure fans both here and abroad would be looking forward to the tournament’s return to India for the first time since 2011, when our team became the first to lift the trophy on home soil.

“I wish all the teams the very best in their preparations and look forward to hosting what promises to be another exciting tournament.”

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 schedule by venues:


5 October – England vs New Zealand

15 October – India vs Pakistan

4 November – England vs Australia

10 November – South Africa vs Afghanistan

19 November – Final


6 October – Pakistan vs Qualifier 1 (Netherlands)

9 October – New Zealand vs Netherlands

12 October – Pakistan vs Qualifier 2 (Sri Lanka)


7 October – Bangladesh vs Afghanistan (Day Game)

10 October – England vs Bangladesh

16 October – South Africa vs Netherlands

22 October – India vs New Zealand

29 October – Australia vs New Zealand (Day Game)


7 October – South Africa vs Sri Lanka

11 October – India vs Afghanistan

15 October – England vs Afghanistan

25 October – Australia vs Netherlands

6 November – Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka


8 October – India vs Australia

14 October – New Zealand vs Bangladesh (Day Game)

18 October – New Zealand vs Afghanistan

23 October – Pakistan vs Afghanistan

27 October – Pakistan vs South Africa


13 October – Australia vs South Africa

17 October – Australia vs Sri Lanka

21 October – Netherlands vs Sri Lanka (Day Game)

29 October – India vs England

3 November – Netherlands vs Afghanistan


19 October – India vs Bangladesh

30 October – Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka

1 November – New Zealand vs South Africa

8 November – England vs Netherlands

12 November – Australia vs Bangladesh (Day Game)


20 October – Australia vs Pakistan

26 October – England vs Qualifier 2

4 November – New Zealand vs Pakistan (Day Game)

9 November – New Zealand vs Sri Lanka

11 November – India vs Netherlands


21 October – England vs South Africa

24 October – South Africa vs Bangladesh

2 November – India vs Sri Lanka

7 November – Australia vs Afghanistan

15 November – Semifinal 1


28 October – Netherlands vs Bangladesh

31 October – Pakistan vs Bangladesh

5 November – India vs South Africa

12 November – England vs Pakistan

16 November – Semifinal 2


  • If the West Indies qualify, they will be Q1 irrespective of where they finish in the Qualifiers
  • If Sri Lanka qualify, they will be Q2 irrespective of where they finish in the Qualifiers
  • If Pakistan qualify for the semi-finals, they will play in Kolkata
  • If India qualify for the semifinals, they will play in Mumbai unless playing against Pakistan, in which case they will play in Kolkata
World Cup 2023 full schedule
ICC World Cup 2023 full schedule. Image: ICC
Read More
Next Story