BJP hits high of 92 in Rajya Sabha, Congress at its lowest ever

Nine BJP candidates including Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri were elected unopposed to the Upper House on Monday

Rajya Sabha
The NDA crossed the 100-mark in the Rajya Sabha | File Photo: PTI

After nine candidates were elected unopposed on Monday (November 2), the BJP’s strength in the Rajya Sabha has gone up to a high of 92, while the Congress’ number has gone down to its lowest ever tally – 38.

Out of the 11 seats – 10 from Uttar Pradesh and one from Uttarakhand – nine were won by the BJP candidates. Now, the ruling NDA has crossed the 100-mark in the Upper House, which has 245 members.

The NDA’s tally is now 104 and it can get the support of four nominated members. The half-way mark is 123 in Rajya Sabha.

Related news: 7 bills passed in RS amid opposition boycott


With the ruling combine further strengthened, it will be easier for the government to push key legislations in the Upper House, where the NDA did not enjoy a majority.

Those elected unopposed included BJP’s Union minister Hardeep Singh Puri, Neeraj Shekhar, Arun Singh, Geeta Shakya, Haridwar Dubey, Brijlal, B L Varma and Seema Dwivedi; Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav; and BSP’s Ramji Gautam. BJP’s Naresh Bansal was elected unopposed from Uttarakhand.

The term of the newly elected members will be from November 25, 2020 to November 24, 2026.

Related news: 3 labour code bills passed in RS

The Congress, which dominated the Upper House for a long time, lost two more seats to the BJP in the current elections.

It was a gain of six as three of the candidates were re-elected. NDA constituent JD(U) has five seats.

The ruling alliance also has some smaller parties like RPI-Athawale, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), Mizo National Front (MNF), National People’s Party (NPP), Naga People’s Front (NPF), Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) and Bodoland People”s Front (BPF), which have one seat each, totalling seven seats.

The NDA can also seek support on crucial bills from some friendly parties like the AIADMK with nine MPs, BJD with nine MPs, TRS with seven MPs and YSRCP which has six MPs in Rajya Sabha. These parties have been extending issue-based support to the NDA.

The Samajwadi Party has lost three seats in these RS polls in Uttarakhand and UP and the BSP lost one seat.

There are 31 Rajya Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh of which 22 will now be with the BJP, five with the Samajwadi Party and three with the BSP. The Congress will have only one seat.

Meanwhile, bypoll to the Rajya Sabha seat from Karnataka vacated following the death of BJP’s Ashok Gasti due to COVID-19 will be held on December 1, the Election Commission said. Gasti had died on September 17.

(With inputs from PTI)