After a close battle, Manish Sisodia, Atishi emerge victorious

The two leaders struggled in initial rounds and trailed behind for some time before managing a lead

In the eleventh round, Atishi managed a comfortable lead margin of 2,047 votes | File Photo: Facebook

With several rounds of counting over in the Delhi assembly elections, the Aam Aadmi Party has emerged the winners for their third consecutive term, with its top leaders Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia and Atishi managing victory in their respective seats — New Delhi, Patparganj, and Kalkaji.

While Chief Minister Kejriwal managed to maintain an easy lead since the first round, eyeing a third term in the top post, his deputy Sisodia and Atishi struggled in the initial rounds and trailed behind for some time. After the end of ninth round counting, Kejriwal maintains an overwhelming lead with 30,611 votes as against BJP candidate Sunil Kumar Yadav’s 13,809.


Sisodia started the first round with a lead of over 100 votes with BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi trailing right behind. The gap narrowed down soon with Negi garnering a lead of 1,427 votes in the third round. The margin kept fluctuating with Sisodia trailing until the 12th round. After the 13th round counting, Sisodia maintains a lead with 65,215 votes as against Negi’s 62,209.

Speaking to the media, Sisodia said people of Delhi have explained the true meaning of nationalism through their mandate. In 2013, Sisodia had won by a margin of 11,000 votes and in 2015 by over 28,000 votes.

Related news: Congratulations in order for AAP: Kerala, Bengal CMs greet Kejriwal

“I am happy to have won the Patparganj seat again. BJP indulged in politics of hate, but I thank the people of Patparganj. Today, Delhi’s people have chosen a government which works for them and explained the true meaning of nationalism through their mandate,” the deputy chief minister told reporters.

Similar was the case with Atishi who failed to open the first round with a lead. BJP candidate Dharambir Singh maintained a lead with a fluctuating margin until the fourth round. And what ensued was an intense and close fight between the two main contenders. Finally, in the eleventh round, she managed a comfortable lead margin of 2,047 votes.

The margin kept increasing and after the 16th round of counting, Atishi leads with 55,642 as against Singh’s 44,218. Only one more round of counting is left in her Kalkaji constituency.

“Thank you to all the people of Delhi for putting their faith in @AamAadmiParty and voting for politics of development. In the last five years we have endeavoured to make Delhi’s Govt. Schools the best in the country and now we’ll make Kalkaji the best constituency in Delhi,” Atishi said in a tweet when the counting was midway.

The assembly elections were held on February 8.

(With inputs from agencies)

Related news: AAP set to rule Delhi with Kejriwal at helm, BJP may improve count

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on