Former Karnataka Dy CM Laxman Savadi quits BJP after being denied ticket

Laxman Savadi, a former Deputy Chief Minister, declared that he will be stepping down from the primary membership of the BJP, after he was denied a ticket for the upcoming Assembly elections

Laxman Savadi
Savadi, who was a BJP MLC, is a three-time MLA from Athani but lost in 2018 to Kumathalli who was then in the Congress. File photo

Following the ruling party’s decision to deny him a ticket to contest in the May 10 Assembly elections, former Deputy Chief Minister Laxman Savadi announced on Wednesday that he will resign from the primary membership of the BJP.

Sitting MLA Mahesh Kumathalli was given ticket in Athani in Belagavi district.

Also Read: Karnataka polls: BJP chief Nadda meets key leaders on probable candidates

Savadi is a three-time MLA from Athani, but lost in the 2018 elections to Kumathalli (then in the Congress).

“I have certainly taken a decision.”

“I have decided to resign from the primary membership of the party,” Savadi, a BJP MLC, said in a press conference.

He added that he will take a “strong decision” on Thursday evening and will start working from Friday.

Also Read: Discontent brews in K’taka Congress after second candidate list release

There is speculation that he may join the Congress.

Kumatalli was among the group of defectors who helped the BJP to bring down the Congress-JD(S) coalition and form its government under the leadership of B S Yediyurappa in 2019.

(With agency inputs)