BJP MP Virendra Kumar to be pro-tem Speaker of Lok Sabha

Parliament - The Federal
As soon as the House met for the day, Speaker Om Birla said he would allow members to raise the "serious issue" in Zero Hour. File Photo: PTI.
BJP MP Virendra Kumar

BJP MP from Madhya Pradesh Virendra Kumar will be the pro-tem Speaker of the Lok Sabha, official sources said on Tuesday (June 11).

Kumar, 65, is a seven-term member of Parliament and won the Lok Sabha polls from Tikamgarh.

As pro-tem speaker, he will preside over the first sitting of the Lok Sabha and administer the oath of office to the newly elected MPs.
The first session of the newly-constituted 17th Lok Sabha will be held from June 17 to July 26.

As pro-tem speaker, Kumar will also oversee the election of the Lok Sabha speaker. Kumar was a minister of state in the previous Modi government.