Barring Janakpuri’s Rajesh Rishi, 69 newly elected Delhi MLAs take oath

61 members took oath in Hindi, three in Urdu, two in Maithili, and one each in English and Punjabi

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal shakes hands with newly elected Speaker Ram Niwas Goel | PTI Photo

Barring Janakpuri lawmaker Rajesh Rishi, the remaining MLAs, including Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his deputy Manish Sisodia, took oath as members of the Delhi legislative assembly during the commencement of its three-day session on Monday (February 24).

Rishi could not take oath on Monday because he was not in town and he will now take oath as the member of newly-constituted Delhi Assembly on Tuesday. This is the first assembly session after the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) formed the government for third time in the national capital.

Related news: Get a glimpse of Kejriwal 3.0 cabinet: CM springs no major surprise

The oath-taking process started with Kejriwal, followed by Sisodia, Environment Minister Gopal Rai, Health Minister Satyendar Jain, Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot and other legislators.


On the first day of the Seventh Delhi Legislative Assembly, 61 members took oath in Hindi, three in Urdu, two members in Maithili, and one member each in English and Punjabi.

AAP MLAs Saurabh Bharadwaj and Naresh Balyan took oath in the name of Lord Hanuman and several MLAs chanted ‘Jai Hanuman’, thumping their desks. According to Bharadwaj, BJP MLA Anil Kumar Bajpai raised objection when he was taking oath in the name of Lord Hanuman.

AAP MLAs Rituraj Govind and Sanjeev Jha pose for photographs on the first day of its three-day session | PTI Photo

Legislators Sanjeev Jha and Ritu Raj Govind, who came dressed in traditional attire, took oath in Maithili language.

Matia Mahal MLA Shoaib Iqbal, who was appointed pro-tem speaker, oversaw the oath-taking ceremony in the House. A few hours before the start of first session on Monday, Iqbal took oath at the LG office.

Later, Shahdara MLA Ram Niwas Goel was unanimously elected as the speaker of assembly for the second consecutive term.

While Tilak Nagar MLA Jarnail Singh took oath in Punjabi, another AAP MLA Rajesh Gupta took oath in the name of his mother and father. MLAs Rohit Mehroliya took oath in the name of Maharishi Valmiki.

Related news: Sisodia meets Sitharaman, demands Delhi’s share in central taxes

Raghav Chadha, Atishi Marlena and Dilip Pandey were among first time MLAs who took oath as the members of the Delhi Legislative Assembly.

BJP’s Badarpur MLA Ramvir Singh Bidhuri, who was elected as Leader of Opposition earlier on Monday, hugged Iqbal after taking oath. Bidhuri and Iqbal were first elected to Delhi Assembly in 1993.

The seventh Delhi Legislative Assembly was constituted after the Aam Aadmi Party bagged a landslide victory in the Delhi assembly election, winning 62 seats in the 70-member House. The BJP won eight seats, while the Congress drew a blank for the second consecutive time.

(With inputs from agencies)