Arvind Kejriwal sworn in as Delhi CM for the third time, 6 others take oath

Manish Sisodia, Satyendar Jain, Imran Hussain, Gopal Rai, Rajendra Gautam and Kailash Gehlot also take oath

Arvind Kejriwal, Delhi CM, AAP, Aam Aadmi Party, six ministers, Manish Sisodia, Satyendar Jain, Imran Hussain, Gopal Rai, Rajendra Gautam, Kailash Gehlot
Arvind Kejriwal took oath as Chief Minister of Delhi for the third consecutive time on Sunday. Photo: ANI/Twitter

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal took oath as Delhi chief minister for the third successive time on Sunday (February 16) along with six of his party leaders.

Taking to Twitter on Sunday morning, Kejriwal urged Delhiites to attend his oath-taking ceremony to bless “their son.”

Kejriwal retained all the six ministers who served his government in the previous term – Manish Sisodia, Satyendar Jain, Imran Hussain, Gopal Rai, Rajendra Gautam and Kailash Gehlot.

Manish Sisodia, who also held the position of Delhi’s deputy Chief Minister, is considered Kejriwal’s right-hand man and the force behind reforms in the public education sector. Apart from education, Sisodia also held the crucial portfolios for finance, planning, tourism, land & building, vigilance, services, women & child development along with art, culture and languages. It is speculated that the Patparganj MLA will retain his portfolios.

Satyendar Jain, an architect by profession, credited for piloting AAP’s internationally recognised Mohalla Clinics programme in its first term, is likely to retain the portfolios of health, industries, power, public works department, home, and urban development.

Gopal Rai, another Kejriwal confidante, had held the rural development department apart from holding the charge for general administration department, irrigation & flood control and labour. Rai is also the convener of the Delhi state unit of the AAP.

Imran Hussain, who is credited for enforcing the environmental norms in the capital during his first term in Kejriwal’s cabinet, held the triple charge for the departments of environment & forest, food & supply and election.

Rajendra Gautam, an accomplished lawyer, who joined the AAP in 2014, is also a member of AAP’s national executive. He was in charge of the social welfare department along with SC & ST, Gurudwara elections, water and registrar of cooperative societies.

Related news | Where is Arvind Kejriwal headed after the victory in Delhi?

The sixth name in Kejriwal’s cabinet, Kailash Gahlot, is described as a philanthropist, educationist and an entrepreneur for social change by AAP.

AAP’s guarantee card

Manish Sisodia said all cabinet ministers, who will take oath on Sunday, were asked to fulfil the promises listed in AAP’s “guarantee card”.

AAP had released a card that carried the “10 guarantees of Kejriwal” ahead of the Delhi assembly polls. It included the promise to plant two crore saplings, clean the Yamuna river and reduce pollution in Delhi.

The AAP won 62 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged the remaining eight seats.