Hemant Soren to take oath as 11th CM of Jharkhand today

Hemant Soren, Jharkhand CM, Chief Minister, take oath, swearing-in ceremony, Governor of Jharkhand, Droupadi Murmu, JMM, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Congress, RJD, Rashtriya Janata Dal, alliance
JMM working president and chief minister-designate Hemant Soren will take the oath of office at 2 pm today. File photo: PTI

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) working president and chief minister-designate Hemant Soren will be sworn in as the 11th chief minister of Jharkhand at Morabadi ground, Ranchi today. The oath-taking ceremony will be held at 2 pm.

According to an official communique, Governor of Jharkhand Droupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office to Soren.

“Besides Hemant Soren, a legislator from the JMM (who is likely to be Stephen Marandi) and Congress state president Rameshwar Oraon also may take oath today,” Hindustan Times quoted a government official as saying.

AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad

Also read: BJP bites the dust as Soren-led alliance wins Jharkhand polls

Several political leaders including Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, BSP president Mayawati, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, and RJD leader and Bihar Opposition leader Tejashwi Yadav will attend the swearing-in ceremony.

JMM general secretary Supriyo Bhattacharya told Hindustan Times that 32 leaders have agreed to attend the ceremony.

Leaders from the JMM, Congress, and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) met Governor Murmu on Tuesday (December 24) and staked claim to form the government in the state after the three-party alliance won 47 seats in the Jharkhand Assembly elections.

Soren will be heading the coalition government with the Congress and RJD. He will be sending the list of his cabinet colleagues to the Raj Bhawan by Sunday (December 29) evening.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on thefederal.com