Shikhar Dhawan, India, West Indies, India tour of West Indies, Cricket, 3rd ODI, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, english news website, The Federal
Since Dhawan is not part of the Test squad, the Delhi left-hander would like to finish the Caribbean assignment on a high. Photo: PTI

Shikhar Dhawan named India ODI captain for West Indies tour

  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram

Shikhar Dhawan was on Wednesday (July 6) named as India’s ODI captain for the three-match series on the tour of the West Indies starting on July 22.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) selection committee named a 16-member squad with Ravindra Jadeja being appointed as the vice-captain.

Also read: ICC Test Rankings: Rishabh Pant at career-high 5; Virat Kohli out of top 10

The selection panel has rested regular skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and others.

Last year, Dhawan had led the Indian ODI squad in Sri Lanka when the seniors were in England with the Test team.

The squad for the tour of the Caribbean sees the return of wicketkeeper Sanju Samson and Shubman Gill. Samson will be the second stumper along with Ishan Kishan.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hood and Avesh Khan, who were not included for the England ODIs, have been called up. Gaikwad and Khan are yet play in ODIs.

Also read: Birmingham loss: Lacklustre, unthreatening bowling attack let India down

Arsheep Singh, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj and Prasidh Krishna are the other pace bowlers along with Khan. The spin department will have Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel.

All the three ODIs against the West Indies will be played at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad. After the ODIs, India will play five T20Is against the West Indies in the Caribbean and the United States, the squad for which is yet to be announced.

India ODI squad: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

India tour of West Indies (ODIs)
Day Date Match Venue
Friday 22 July 1st ODI Port of Spain
Sunday 24 July 2nd ODI Port of Spain
Wednesday 27 July 3rd ODI Port of Spain
Read More
Next Story