IPL 2023 final, CSK beat GT
Dhoni lifts Jadeja as CSK won the IPL 2023 final against GT. Photo: Twitter/CSK

IPL 2023: Dhoni-led CSK's road to 5th IPL title; Jadeja stars in final

  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram

In a thrilling last-ball final, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won the IPL 2023 title by defeating Gujarat Titans (GT) by five wickets via the Duckworth-Lews-Stern (DLS) method at the Narendra Modi Stadium in the early hours of Tuesday (May 30).

Also read: IPL 2023 final: CSK fans sleep at railway station after rain plays spoilsport

The IPL 2023 final was decided on the reserve day on Monday and spilled over to Tuesday with the game ending at 1:33 AM. CSK successfully chased down the revised target of 171 in 15 overs. Earlier, GT had made 214/4 in 20 overs. Ravindra Jadeja hit a 6 and 4 off the final two balls from Mohit Sharma to help CSK win the trophy.

Also read: CSK’s record in previous 9 IPL finals

CSK are only the second team after Mumbai Indians (MI) to win IPL five times. CSK’s IPL titles came in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023.

CSK’s road to IPL 2023 title

Leage phase: Played: 14, Won: 8, Lost: 5, No Result (NR): 1, Points: 17, Net Run Rate: 0.652. Position: 2.

Match 1: Vs GT (Away game): Lost by 5 wickets

Match 2: Vs LSG (Home game): Won by 12 runs

Match 3: Vs MI (Away): Won by 7 wickets

Match 4: Vs RR (Home): Lost by 3 runs

Match 5: Vs RCB (Away): Won by 8 runs

Match 6: Vs SRH (Home): Won by 7 wickets

Match 7: Vs KKR (Away): Won by 49 runs

Match 8: Vs RR (Away): Lost by 32 runs

Match 9: Vs PBKS (Home): Lost by 4 wickets

Match 10: Vs LSG (Away): No Result

Match 11: Vs MI (Home): Won by 6 wickets

Match 12: Vs DC (Home): Won by 27 runs

Match 13: Vs KKR (Home): Lost by 6 wickets

Match 14: Vs DC (Away): Won by 77 runs

Qualifier 1: Vs GT: Won by 15 runs

Final: Vs GT: Won by 5 wickets (DLS method)

Chennai Super Kings full squad

MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajinkya Rahane, Sisanda Magala, Shivam Dube, Dwaine Pretorius, Ajay Mandal, Nishant Sindhu, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Mitchell Santner, Subhranshu Senapati, Simarjeet Singh, Matheesha Pathirana, Mahesh Theekshana, Bhagath Verma, Prashant Solanki, Shaikh Rasheed, Tushar Deshpande.

Read More
Next Story