Injury-hit New Zealand brings new pace attack in ODIs against India

This is the first ODI series for New Zealand since their infamous loss in the 2019 World Cup final

India vs New Zealand, India tour of New Zealand, ODI squad, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Hamish Bennett

New Zealand’s ODI squad will witness a rush of adrenaline from the fresh blood in their pace attack when they take on India in the three-match series starting February 5 in Hamilton.

As injuries forced the frontline fast bowlers Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, and Matt Henry to make themselves unavailable for the series, youngsters are all set to make their debut.

The 6’8″ tall uncapped, Kyle Jamieson could be in for a potential debut, while Scott Kuggeleijn and Hamish Bennett return to the squad after a long absence.

Also read: Rohit guides India to win first T20I series in New Zealand via Super Over

Nicknamed Killa, the country’s tallest cricketer Jamieson has been using his height to good effect in the domestic circuit, bouncing out batsmen.

Born in Auckland and brought up in Canterbury, the 25-year-old towering Jamieson has of late sparkled for New Zealand A, including against touring India A side recently.

He is taller than New Zealand’s batting coach Peter Fulton, nicknamed ‘Two-metre Peter’.

The Black Caps will rely on Tim Southee’s experience, while Colin de Grandhomme returns to the squad after being left out for the last two T20Is. Jimmy Neesham and Mitchell Santner will be the all-round options.

Meanwhile, Ish Sodhi has been included in the squad for only the first ODI in Hamilton. He will be released for the second unofficial Test between India A and New Zealand A in Christchurch on February 7.

Coach Gary Stead said his team was aware of the task at hand and looked up to his batsmen to step up.

“We’ve seen from the Twenty20 series (India) are clearly as strong as ever. While the bowling line-up has a fresh look, the batting is very settled and well likely have the same top eight batsmen from the World Cup finals,” Stead said.

Also read: Prithvi Shaw to replace Dhawan in NZ ODI series, Sanju Samson gets T20 call

“Tim Southee has an important job leading our new-look pace attack, which has a huge opportunity against some of the very best batsmen in the world,” he added.

This is the first ODI series for New Zealand since their infamous loss in the 2019 World Cup final.

New Zealand trail the ongoing five-match T20 International series against India 0-3.

ODI squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi (1st ODI), Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

(With inputs from agencies)