Uddhav Thackeray introduces his ministers in Maha Assembly

Newly elected Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray along with the ministers addresses media at Sahyadri Guest House after the first cabinet meeting, in Mumbai on Thursday. Photo: PTI

After a lot of drama, the newly elected Maharashtra Chief Minister and Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray introduced six members of his ministerial council in the state Legislative Assembly on Saturday (November 30).

Thackeray introduced the ministers during the special session of the 14th state Legislative Assembly, before facing the floor test.

Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai (Shiv Sena), Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal (NCP) and Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut (Congress) had taken oath as ministers at Thackeray’s swearing-in ceremony held at Shivaji Park in Mumbai on Thursday.

AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad

Shinde and Desai were health and industries ministers respectively in the previous Devendra Fadnavis government. Bhujbal was a deputy chief minister, while Patil had held portfolios like finance and rural development during the 15 years rule of the Congress-NCP till 2014.

Also read | Uddhav wins floor test by 169-0 in Maharashtra assembly, BJP walks out

Thorat and Raut have been revenue and animal husbandry ministers respectively for some time during the same period.

The ministers were sworn-in on November 28 after Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress came together to form the government in Maharashtra after the Thackeray-led party fell out with its ally BJP over sharing of the chief ministerial post after the Assembly election result was announced on October 24.

(With inputs from agencies)

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on thefederal.com