Supreme Court names 9 judges on bench to hear Sabarimala cases

The Supreme Court on Tuesday (January 7) constituted 9-judge Constitution bench, headed by Chief Justice SA Bobde, to hear from January 13 the issue of allowing women and girls of all ages to enter Kerala’s Sabarimala temple along with other contentious matters of alleged discrimination against Muslim and Parsi women.

Besides the CJI, other judges on the bench are Justices are R Banumathi, Ashok Bhushan, LN Rao, MM Shantanagoudar, SA Nazeer, RS Reddy, BR Gavai and Surya Kant.

The top court issued a notice on Monday informing about the listing of petition filed by Indian Young Lawyers Association seeking review of its historic 2018 judgement allowing women and girls of all ages to enter Sabarimala temple.

However, the names of the judges were announced on Tuesday.