New Parliament inauguration: Who is attending, and who is boycotting?

At least 20 Opposition parties have decided to boycott the event which will see PM Narendra Modi inaugurate the new Parliament building

new Parliament building, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, inauguration ceremony, schedule
The Opposition parties have raised objections to Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurating the new Parliament building and said President Droupadi Murmu should do the honours instead.

Amid a raging controversy over the inauguration of the new Parliament building, while 20 Opposition parties have decided to boycott the May 28 event, 24 including regional parties have confirmed that they will be present at the ceremony.

Over the past few days, the Opposition has stepped up its attacks on the BJP-led central government, demanding to know why the new Parliament building was being inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi instead of President Droupadi Murmu, who is the constitutional head of the state.

In light of this, 19 Opposition parties, including the Congress, AAP, DMK, TMC, NCP, and CPI, recently issued a joint statement to announce their intention to boycott the inauguration ceremony.

However, friendly parties including regional ones like AIADMK, Shiv Sena (Shinde), BJD, BSP, and SAD have marked their attendance for the event.

BRS, whose leader K Chandrashekar is one of the harshest critics of Prime Minister Modi, is also yet to take a call.

Here is a list of attendees and non-attendees:

New Parliament building inauguration

New Parliament building inauguration