MPs’ suspension reflects govt’s autocratic mindset, says Mamata

We’ll fight the fascist govt in Parliament and on the streets, says Trinamool chief. Two of her party MPs have been suspended

Mamata Banerjee
West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee | File Photo: PTI

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, who is also the Trinamool Congress chief, has said the suspension of eight Rajya Sabha members, including two from her party, reflected the BJP-led government’s autocratic mindset.

“Suspension of the eight MPs who fought to protect farmers’ interests is unfortunate & reflective of this autocratic government’s mindset that doesn’t respect democratic norms & principles. We won’t bow & we’ll fight this fascist government in Parliament and on the streets,” Mamata tweeted.

AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad

TMC MP and the Chief Minister’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee also condemned the MPs’ suspension. “What happened in Rajya Sabha is an absolute contempt of parliamentary proceedings. ‘Pro-farmer’ ordinances by @narendramodi Ji’s government are not just fundamentally flawed, but now the Centre is taking away the right to even vote upon them! All one can say is #BJPKilledDemocracy,” he tweeted.

Related news: Derek O’Brien, 7 others suspended for ruckus in Rajya Sabha over farm bills

Eight members, including two Trinamool Congress MPs — Derek O’Brien and Dola Sen — were suspended on Monday for a week over Sunday’s chaos in the House during the passage of two farm bills.

An Opposition-sponsored no-confidence motion against the Deputy Chairman of the Upper House was rejected on Monday (September 21). It was signed by MPs from the Congress, Trinamool Congress, DMK, RJD, TRS, NCP, AAP, CPI, CPI (M), JD (S), IUML and Kerala Congress (Mani).

The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020, were passed by the Rajya Sabha by a voice vote.

Opposition members, including those from the TMC, Congress and Left, created a ruckus after Deputy Chairperson Harivansh did not consider their demand for a division of votes on a resolution to send the two bills to a select committee of the House.

Related news: Opposition’s no-trust motion based on wrong format: RS Chairman Naidu

“When the Chairman names a member, then that member has to leave the House. Never before a member defied the orders of the Chair. The eight suspended MPs had misbehaved — it was a type of goondaism. They’ve proved that they have no trust in democracy,” said Pralhad Joshi, Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister.

His reaction came even as the Opposition forced multiple adjournments of the House on Monday. The session was eventually adjourned till 9am on Tuesday.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on