Cong fields Sheila Dixit from Delhi north-east, declares names for 5 more LS seats

Former CM of Delhi Shiela Dixit has been fielded by the Congress from the Delhi NE seat.

The Congress on Monday (April 22) announced the names of six candidates for Delhi Lok Sabha seats, fielding former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit from North-East Delhi, Ajay Maken from New Delhi and J P Agarwal from Chandni Chowk.

“I’ll do my best to fulfill the responsibility given to me. I’ve contested from here earlier, I know the people here and they know me. We had started Metro from here, our reputation is of working for the people,” ANI quoted Sheila Dikshit as saying.

The Congress also fielded Arvinder Singh Lovely from East Delhi, Rajesh Lilothia from North-West Delhi and Mahbal Mishra from West Delhi.

The announcement of candidates came after talks of an alliance between the AAP and the Congress failed as the Rahul Gandhi-led party wanted a tie up only in Delhi while the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) wanted the alliance to be forged in Haryana as well.