Centre appoints four new governors, transfers one 

New Governors of five states: (Left to Right) Tamilisai Soundararajan, Bandaru Dattatreya, Arif Mohammed Khan, Bhagat Singh Koshyari and Kalraj Mishra.

The Centre on Sunday (September 1) transferred the governor of Himachal Pradesh to Rajasthan and appointed new governors to four other states.

While Himachal Pradesh’s Governor Kalraj Mishra, a former cabinet minister under the BJP government under Modi 1.0 was transferred to Rajasthan, his place was filled by Bandaru Dattatreya, a former BJP MP from Secunderabad, according to an official statement.

Fifty-eight-year-old Tamilisai Soundararajan, the former Tamil Nadu BJP chief and the party’s national secretary, moves to Raj Bhavan in Telangana.


The post was under the dual charge of E S L Narasimhan, who was the Governor of Andhra Pradesh before its bifurcation.

He recently demitted office. Koshyari replaces Vidya Sagar Rao, whose five-year term came to an end.

Former civil aviation minister Arif Mohammed Khan takes over as the Governor of Kerala, replacing P Sathasivam, the former chief justice of India whose five-year term came to an end.

Bhagat Singh Koshyari, a former BJP MP and chief minister of Uttarakhand was appointed as the Governor of Maharashtra.

(With inputs from agencies)