RJD to boycott Nitish Kumar's oath-taking ceremony

Bihars main opposition partyRJD on Monday said it will boycott the oath-taking ceremony ofNitish Kumar as chief minister, claiming the mandate in theelections was “against the NDA” which has been changed by a”fraud”.

Kumar is scheduled to take oath as chief minister forthe seventh time in Raj Bhavan this evening.

“The RJD boycotts oath-taking ceremony of this puppetgovernment. The mandate is for a change, and against the(ruling) NDA. The peoples verdict has been changed by therulers order,” the RJD alleged in a tweet.

“Ask the unemployed, the farmer, the contract worker andteacher as to what they are going through. People are angrywith NDAs fraud. We are public representatives and we standwith people,” it said.


The RJD, which emerged as the single largest party inBihar with 75 seats, also claimed the state is getting a”helpless government by the two helpless parties”.

Attacking Kumar, it said Bihar will have a “ChiefMinister who has been proven weak, idle and corrupt. And asenior partner (BJP) who has no (chief ministerial) face andis forced to resort to dubious means (for earning majority)”.

“Their helplessness are 1. Peoples support for the RJD 2.

Tejashwi Yadav being elected as Bihars most popular leader,”it said in the tweet.

The party also took a dig at Kumars reported remark atSundays NDA meeting that he did not want to become CM but wasinsisted by the BJP to continue in the post.

“I did not want to become chief minister because myparty came third and also I was tired. But, several BJPleaders grabbed my feet, started crying and pleading beforeme. I, being a soft-hearted, power-hungry mendicant, wasmoved. How could I annoy them,” the RJD said in a tweet lacedwith sarcasm.

In the election results for 243 assembly seats announcedon November 10, the RJD-led Mahagathbandhan lost to the fourparties NDA.

The BJP is the largest party within the ruling coalitionwith 74 seats, followed by JD-U (43) and Vikassheel InsaanParty (VIP) and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) four each.

The BJP had announced before the polls that Kumarwill remain chief minister irrespective of which NDAconstituent wins the maximum number of seats.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by The Federal staff and is auto-published from a syndicated feed.)