Six in fray for lone Mizoram Lok Sabha seat after scrutiny

The court's order came while hearing a plea seeking an extension of the deadline for elections to the Jaipur, Kota and Jodhpur municipal corporations

The nomination of all the six candidates for Mizoram’s lone Lok Sabha seat and of three contestants for the by-election to Aizawl West -1 assembly seat were found to be in order after scrutiny on Tuesday, the Joint Chief Electoral Office H Lianzela said.

Following the scrutiny candidate of the ruling Mizo National Front C Lalrosanga, BJP’s Nirupam Chakma, independent candidate sponsored by opposition Zoram People’s Movement-Congress Lalnghinglova Hmar, Peoples Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram’s (PRISM) T B C Lalvenchhunga are in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat.

The nomination papers of two other independents – Lalhriatrenga Chhangte and Lalthlamuani were also accepted, Lianzela said.


Those in the fray for the Aizawl West-I assembly by-poll were Zothantluanga of MNF, Lalbuanga Sailo of the ZPM-Congress combine and Rev Zaichhawna Hlawndo of Zoram Thar, he said.

As per the EC, the last date of withdrawal of nominations is on Thursday.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on