Shiv Sena, BSP, JD(U) declare candidates for LS and Assembly polls

Despite the presence of the Prime Minister, the RSS chief, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and others, the ceremony will be lacklustre without Shah, the Sena said.

Here are the latest developments from various states across the country as the general elections draw closer:


Politician Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah filed her nominations on Friday as the BJP’s candidate from Tehri Lok Sabha constituency in Uttarakhand. A two-time MP from the seat, Shah filed her nominations before the returning officer, in the presence of Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat, family members, party MLAs and Dehradun Mayor Sunil Uniyal Gama.

Uttar Pradesh


The BSP announced its first list of 11 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, fielding JD(S) turncoat Kunwar Danish Ali from Amroha, said a PTI report. Ali, who was general secretary of the Janata Dal(S), quit the party and joined the BSP only last week. BSP is contesting 38 of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh under the seat-sharing arrangement with Samajwadi Party and the Rashtriya Lok Dal.


In another setback to the Nationalist Congress Party ahead of next month’s polling, its state unit vice-president Bharti Pawar joined the BJP, while Congress leader Pravin Chheda returned to ruling party. The two leaders joined the BJP in the presence of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and other senior functionaries.

The Shiv Sena on March 22 declared a list of 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha poll, dropping an MP who hit an Air India staffer in 2017, reported PTI. Ravindra Gaikwad, 59, had hit an Air India staffer with a slipper at the IGI airport in Delhi and then openly boasted about it.


Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President Dinesh Gundurao on March 22 said his party wants JDS Supremo H D Deve Gowda to contest elections from Bengaluru North constituency. “I spoke to Deve Gowda ji and requested him to contest from Bengaluru North constituency… Congress has five and JD(S) two MLAs who can ensure his victory,” he told PTI.

Tamil Nadu

J Deepa, general secretary, MGR AMMA Deepa Peravai, announced on March 22 that her party will extend its support to AIADMK in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. She said that talks of merging her party with AIADMK will continue after the elections.

Arunachal Pradesh

The JD(U), which is contesting the elections for the first time in Arunachal Pradesh, has released its second list of eight candidates for the assembly polls. The party’s Northeast Executive Council Chairman, Senchumo Lotha, released the second list of nominees for the polls on March 21.


Delhi’s chief electoral officer said on March 22 that 39 FIRs and daily diary entries have been registered against various political parties since March 10 for violating the model code of conduct. Four FIRs have been registered against the Aam Aadmi Party, while three have been filed against the BJP, said a PTI report. Most of the FIRs are related to defacement of property. The report said that more than 1.94 lakh posters, banners and hoardings were removed since the mode code of conduct came into force.