Congress releases its election manifesto; Karnataka BJP gets new VP

Tejaswini Ananth Kumar accepted the party's decision as a loyal foot worker. Photo: By special arrangement

The Congress made several promises in its election manifesto, while the NDA quickly dismissed it. From Kerala to Delhi, here’s the latest election news from various states across the nation:

Tamil Nadu

Residents of RK Nagar say that TTV Dhinakaran’s promise of ₹10,000 per voter is yet to be fulfilled and they are inclined to vote for DMK with Dhinakaran not delivering any promise from his manifesto. The RK Nagar Assembly seat comes under the Chennai North Lok Sabha constituency. While the DMK has effectively had control over several other Assembly seats in the division, RK Nagar has often elected an AIADMK member over the four decades of the constituency’s existence.

Poll flying squad on April 2 seized ₹6,65,000 cash (without valid documents) from a vehicle during checking in Ramanathapuram.



In a placatory move, the BJP, which denied ticket to Tejaswini Ananth Kumar from Bangalore South, appointed her as the state unit vice-president. Several party workers including MLA V Somanna had questioned the central leadership’s choice of Tejasvi Surya’s candidature for the seat. The move comes ahead of BJP national president Amit Shah’s visit to the city for a political rally on April 2.

Andhra Pradesh

BSP chief Mayawati and Jana Sena Party founder Pawan Kalyan, who formed an alliance for the Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh, will jointly address election meetings at Vijayawada, Tirupati and Hyderabad, the Jana Sena said. They will campaign for Jana Sena, BSP and Left parties in Andhra Pradesh. Mayawati, who reached Visakhapatnam on April 2, will address a joint media conference with Kalyan the next day. They will address a public meeting at Vijayawada on April 3 and a rally at Tirupati on April 4. On the same day, Mayawati will attend a public meeting to be held in Hyderabad along with Kalyan.


The Congress on April 1 fielded Olympian discus thrower Krishna Poonia from the Jaipur Rural constituency as it released another list of nine candidates for the Lok Sabha polls. With this, the Congress has so far announced the names of 325 candidates for the upcoming general election. Poonia, a three-time Olympic participant, is the MLA from the Sadulpur constituency in Rajasthan. She will contest against Union Information and Broadcasting Minister and Olympic medallist Rajyavardhan Rathore, who is the Jaipur Rural MP.


The Congress released its manifesto for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections with its president Rahul Gandhi describing it as the “voice of people.” The Congress chief said if his party is elected to power, its government would spend 6% of the GDP on education. His party will work to unite the people, he said, accusing the Modi government of dividing the society and spreading hatred.


Priyanka Gandhi Vadra will accompany Congress president Rahul Gandhi to Wayanad for filing of his nomination from the parliamentary constituency.


Congress named Babi Bagkar as its candidate to contest by-election from Mandrem (Goa) legislative Assembly seat and Atal Shukla (UP) to contest by-election from Nighasan legislative assembly seat.