Deputy CM Sisodia trails behind BJP’s Ravi Negi in Patparganj seat

Manish Sisodia
The response by BJP comes after Manish Sisodia said he received a message from the party offering to shut all CBI and ED cases against him if he joined the saffron party | Pic: PTI

Trends suggest that AAP leader Manish Sisodia is trailing behind BJP candidate Ravi Negi by around 2,182 votes after the fifth round of counting from Patparganj Assembly seat in East Delhi.

The BJP and Congress had fielded Ravi Negi and Laxman Rawat, respectively. In the 2013 Assembly polls, Sisodia won from here by a margin of nearly 12,000 votes, defeating BJP’s Nakul Bhardwaj. In the February 2015 elections, he defeated BJP’s Vinod Kumar Binny by a margin of over 29,000 votes. Sisodia is a close confidante of AAP national convener and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. Sisodia was made the deputy CM of Delhi after the party’s victory in the 2015 Assembly polls. He is contesting from Patparganj for the third consecutive time.