Australian cricket team, World Cup 2023 final

Australian players celebrate with the trophy after winning the ICC World Cup 2023 finals at the Narendra Modi Stadium, in Ahmedabad, Sunday, November 19. Photo: PTI

Australia's road to sixth ODI World Cup trophy

  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram

Kolkata, Nov 19 (PTI) Australia extended their unparalleled record in ODI World Cup by winning their sixth trophy here on Sunday.

After defeats in their opening two matches, Australia came roaring back, winning their next nine games in succession including an emphatic six-wicket victory over India in the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium.

Here's Australia's journey to the top:

Match 1: Australia lost to India by 6 wickets in Chennai

Match 2: Australia lost to South Africa by 134 runs in Lucknow

Match 3: Australia beat Sri Lanka by 5 wickets in Lucknow

Match 4: Australia beat Pakistan by 62 runs in Bengaluru

Match 5: Australia beat Netherlands by 309 runs in Delhi

Match 6: Australia beat New Zealand by 5 runs in Dharamsala

Match 7: Australia beat England by 33 runs in Ahmedabad

Match 8: Australia beat Afghanistan by 3 wickets in Pune

Match 9: Australia beat Bangladesh by 8 wickets in Pune

Semifinal: Australia beat South Africa by 3 wickets in Kolkata

Final: Australia beat India by six wickets in Ahmedabad. PTI

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by The Federal staff and is auto-published from a syndicated feed.)
Read More
Next Story