AIADMK chief whip seeks disqualification of 3 MLAs

AIADMK’s chief whip Rajendran has sought the disqualification of three AIADMK MLAs. In a letter to Tamil Nadu speaker P Dhanapal, he has asked for the move against Kallakurichi MLA Prabhu, Virudhachalam MLA Kalaiselvan and Aranthangi MLA Rathnasabapathy, alleging their closeness to AMMK chief TTV Dhinakaran.

Allegedly, the three had also campaigned for Dhinakaran ahead of the bypolls conducted in the state recently.

The 18 rebel MLAs who joined with Dhinakaran, soon after the passing away of Tamil nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, had resulted in  their disqualification prompting bypolls in the state. While bypolls have been held for 18 constituencies, four more constituencies will go on polls on May 19.

AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad

The results of the bypolls will be declared on May 23, along with the Lok Sabha poll results.


Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on