AIADMK to send Mohammed John, N Chandrasekaran to Rajya Sabha

Tamil Nadu, elections, polls, DMK, The Federal, English news website
Mohammed John (Left) and N Chandrasekaran (Right).

AIADMK has announced former Tamil Nadu minister A Mohammed John and party’s Mettur secretary N Chandrasekaran as its candidates for the July 18 Rajya Sabha elections from the state.

The announcement comes almost a week after the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) announced LPF general secretary M Shanmugam and advocate C Wilson as its candidates for the six Upper House seats that will be up for polls from the state. Both the DMK and AIADMK have given one seat each to their allies, MDMK and PMK respectively.

Earlier, several names were doing the rounds in the ruling party for the Upper House, including senior leader V Maitreyan, former Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha, M Thambidurai, former ministers KP Munusamy and Gokula Indira. However, the AIADMK leadership brought the curtains down on the speculations and announced the names of John and Chandrasekaran.

Also read: TTV in political wilderness; his only hope is Sasi’s return

A Mohammed John was a minister of the backward classes and minorities welfare during late CM Jayalalithaa’s regime, and Chandrasekaran has been the party’s Mettur unit secretary. While John was elected from Ranipet in 2011, Chandrasekaran belongs to Arunthathiyar community, a Scheduled Caste and hails from Salem, the chief minister Edappadi K Palaniswami’s native district.

John’s nomination comes after former MP Anwar Raajhaa pushed for Muslim representation in both the Houses. If Chandrasekaran is selected, he would be the second person from Arunthathiyar community to set foot in the Upper House after VP Duraisamy of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), who served between 1995 and 2001.

Meanwhile, the AIADMK has announced that AC Shanmugam would be its candidate for the Vellore Lok Sabha seat, where polls were not held along with the general elections after a huge amount of cash was seized during campaigning.