Yediyurappa allocates portfolios, Karnataka to have 3 deputy CMs

Yediyurappa, Karnataka, bypolls, JD(S), rebels
Addressing pressperson at circuit house Yediyurappa said, “If the two killed in police firing are proved guilty in the incident then the government will not provide any compensation to their families.

In a first, Karnataka will have three Deputy Chief Ministers as Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa on Monday (August 26) allocated portfolios to 17 newly appointed ministers who were inducted into the cabinet nearly a week ago.

Among the three Deputy Chief Ministers are Govind Karjol, who has also been given the charge of PWD and Social welfare; Ashwath Narayan the portfolio of Higher Education, IT & BT, Science and Technology; and Laxman Savadi with the Transport department.

Basavaraj Bommai gets the Home portfolio. While Jagadish Shettar, a former Chief Minister, has been made the Minister for Large and Medium Scale Industries, two former Deputy Chief Ministers, K S Eshwarappa and R Ashoka, have been given the charge of Rural Development and Panchayat Raj, and Revenue Department respectively.

Senior ST leader B Sriramulu is the Health and Family Welfare Minister, while S Suresh Kumar, a Brahmin, has been given the charge of Primary and Secondary Education, along
with Sakala.

Portfolios of other ministers include- V Somanna (Housing), C T Ravi (Tourism, Kannada and Culture), Basavaraj Bommai (Home), Kota Shrinivas Poojari (Muzrai, Fisheries, Ports and Inland Transport), J C Madhuswamy (Law, Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation, Minor Irrigation).

C C Patil has been allotted Mines and Geology, H Nagesh (Excise), Prabhu Chavan (Animal Husbandry), and Shahsikala Jolle (Women and Child Development).

Interestingly, Savadi, who has been made the Deputy Chief Minister, is neither a member of the Assembly nor the Council. His induction into the cabinet had created resentment among several senior BJP legislators.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on