Rebellion in TDP: Four out of six Rajya Sabha MPs cross over to BJP

Chandrababu Naidu
As part of its ‘Look South’ mission, the BJP has stepped up efforts to woo TDP leaders, particularly from Kapu and Backward Classes communities, into its fold and occupy the opposition space in Andhra Pradesh. Credit: PTI

The Telugu Desam Party has split in the Rajya Sabha with at least four of its six MPs breaking to back the ruling BJP.

These MPs also submitted a letter to Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu about their decision. Their decision to back the BJP will give a boost to the saffron party in the Upper House as the ruling National Democratic Alliance does not have a majority there yet.

The breakaway faction has merged with the BJP. The TDP, which is led by former Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu, has six members in the Rajya Sabha. If four of them break away, then it will meet the legal requirement of anti-defection law, which mandates the support of at least two-third members for a split to be recognised in Parliament. The Rajya Sabha has a strength of 245 members and the BJP is the single largest party with 71 MPs.