Albie Morkel to Liam Livingstone: Meet IPL’s longest six hitters
Liam Livingstone has hit the longest six so far in IPL 2022. Photo: BCCI/IPL

Albie Morkel to Liam Livingstone: Meet IPL’s longest six hitters

  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram
  • Whatsapp
  • Telegram

Punjab Kings (PBKS) batsman Liam Livingstone has smashed the longest six of the IPL 2022 so far, at 117 metres.

The Englishman achieved the feat on Tuesday (May 3) against Gujarat Titans (GT).

Where does this rank in the all-time IPL’s biggest sixes? Find out here.

Twenty20 cricket is all about big hits. Fans watch the shortest form of the game for fours and sixes. And, over the years, IPL has provided loads of entertainment with batsmen smashing sixes and fours.

Also read: Up or down, forever I will be with Bangalore, asserts Kohli

West Indian Chris Gayle has hit 357 sixes in 141 innings of IPL and he holds the record for most sixes in the tournament. The next best is 251 sixes by AB de Villiers and he is followed by Rohit Sharma with 234.

When it comes to the longest sixes witnessed in IPL, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) batsman Albie Morkel and Royal Challengers Bangalore’s (RCB) Praveen Kumar head the list with a hit of 124 metres.

Most sixes in IPL history. Source: IPL

In the top-six longest six hitters, apart from Morkel and Kumar, Adam Gilchrist, Robin Uthappa, Ross Taylor, Gayle, Yuvraj Singh and Ben Cutting feature. Livingstone is the latest entrant.

Livingstone hit a ball from Mohammed Shami for a 117-metre six at Navi Mumbai’s D Y Patil Stadium. See this, commentator and former South African captain Graeme Smith called it a “monster”.

Longest sixes in the history of IPL

  • 1. 124 metres – Albie Morkel for CSK vs DC, 2008, M A Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai; Praveen Kumar for RCB vs RR, 2008, M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
  • 2. 122 metres – Adam Gilchrist for KXIP vs RCB, 2011, HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala
  • 3. 120 metres – Robin Uthappa for RCB vs MI, 2010, Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
  • 4. 119 metres – Ross Taylor for RCB vs CSK, 2008, M Chinnaswamy Stadium; Chris Gayle for RCB vs PWI, 2013, M Chinnaswamy Stadium
  • 5. 118 metres – Yuvraj Singh for KXIP vs CSK, 2009, SuperSport Park, Centurion
  • 6. 117 metres – Ben Cutting for SRH vs RCB, 2016, M Chinnaswamy Stadium; Liam Livingstone for PBKS vs GT, D Y Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai
Read More
Next Story