We have required numbers: Sena-NCP-Cong in letter to Maha Guv

The Congress was an old party with a historical legacy where murmurs of resentment are more, it said.

Leaders of the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress on Monday (November 25) submitted a letter to Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari, claiming they have the required numbers to form government in the state.

The letter was signed by Eknath Shinde, Jayant Patil and Balasaheb Thorat, the legislature party leaders of the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress, respectively.

The Maha Vikas Aghadi, the post-poll alliance formed by the three parties, claimed it has the majority whereas the recently sworn in Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis “does not
have the required numbers”.


“Once Fadnavis fails to prove his majority during the floor test, the Shiv Senas claim for government formation should be considered,” the parties said in the letter.

“We have attached the list of NCP and Congress MLAs supporting Senas claim along with other smaller parties and Independents who have extended their support. We should be
called to form government immediately,” they said. After submitting the letter, NCPs state chief Jayant Patil said, “The three parties – Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress and smaller allies are willing to parade all 162 MLAs who have supported the Senas claim to form government in Maharashtra.”

Also read | Shiv Sena not to mention plea in SC against Guv’s refusal for more time

“If the governor permits, we will bring all the 162 MLAs before him,” he told reporters outside the Raj Bhavan where Shiv Senas Eknath Shinde and Congress state chief
Balasaheb Thorat were also present. Patil said they have the signatures of “51 out of
total 54 NCP MLAs”.

“Ajit Pawar, Anna Bansode and Dharmaraobaba Atram have not signed the letter. Bansode is in Pune while Atram had gone to Gurugram along with other NCP MLAs but he informed us that he is with the partys decision,” he said.

On the NCPs efforts to convince Ajit Pawar to come back to the party fold, Patil said, “I will make my last attempt to convince Ajit Pawar today.”

BJPs Devendra Fadnavis and NCP leader Ajit Pawar were sworn in as chief minister and deputy chief minister respectively by Koshyari at 8 am on Saturday at a hush hush ceremony in Raj Bhavan in Mumbai, leading to the lifting of the Presidents rule in the state.

The BJP was propped up by NCPs Ajit Pawar who revolted against his party headed by his uncle Sharad Pawar.

In the 288-member state Assembly, BJP is the single largest party with 105 MLAs, followed by Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress party having 56, 54 and 44 members respectively.

The Sena, however, broke its three-decade-long ties with the BJP after the latter declined to share the chief ministers post.

Also read | Shiv Sena moves SC against Guv’s denies extra time to muster numbers

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on thefederal.com