Rajya Sabha elections to 11 seats scheduled for Nov 9

The notification for the elections, being held as 11 seats will fall vacant due to retirements in November, will be issued on October 20

The counting of the elections to the 11 Rajya Sabha seats will also be done on November 9 itself | File Photo: PTI

The elections to 10 Rajya Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh and one from Uttarakhand will be held on November 9 and the counting will be done on the same day, the Election Commission announced on Tuesday (October 13).

The elections are being held as 11 seats will fall vacant due to retirements in November. 

Civil Aviation Minister Hardeep Singh Puri, Neeraj Shekhar and Arun Singh of the BJP, Raj Babbar and P L Punia of the Congress, Ram Gopal Yadav, Javed Ali Khan, Ravi Prakash Verma and Chandrapal Singh Yadav of the Samajwadi Party, and Veer Singh and Rajaram of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) are the members retiring.

The Parliament had given them a farewell in the monsoon session that was held from September 14. The session was concluded eight days before schedule due to concerns over the spread of coronavirus.

The Election Commission said the notification for the elections will be issued on October 20. The polls will be conducted by adhering to all COVID-related guidelines such as using thermal scanning to check body temperature, ensuring social distancing, making masks mandatory, and providing provision for sanitisers, the commission said in a statement.

Related News: The Paswan factor will play a big role in Bihar elections

It said that it has appointed chief electoral officers as observers in the two states. It has also instructed the chief secretaries of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand to depute senior officers “to ensure the instructions regarding COVID containment measures are compiled with while making arrangements for conducting the elections”.

The EC has said that by-elections to 54 Assembly seats in 10 states will be held on November 3. The states are Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Manipur, Nagaland, Odisha, Haryana, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh.

The commission has come out with campaigning and voting guidelines to be followed to contain the spread of COVID. An additional hour will be provided for voting to prevent overcrowding of polling stations. It has also said there will be no physical contact during campaigning.

The Assembly elections in Bihar will be held in three phases from October 28 and the results will be announced on November 10. 

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on thefederal.com