All eyes on Gehlot as he moves trust vote in Rajasthan Assembly

The BJP too has decided to move a no-confidence motion against the government

Gehlot now has the support of 107 MLAs in the 200-member Assembly after the return of his former deputy Sachin Pilot to the Congress camp.File photo: PTI

After a month of rebellion, huddling of MLAs in resorts, mudslinging and finally a truce, Rajasthan on Friday (August 14) saw Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot moving a vote of confidence to prove his majority in the Assembly.

The special session of the Assembly which began in the morning, however, has been adjourned till 1 pm due to heavy rains.

Earlier in the day, a whip was issued by Mahesh Joshi to all Congress MLA’s to be present in the Assembly session.

AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad

“As the Legislative Assembly session begins today, it would be the victory of the people of Rajasthan and the unity of our Congress MLAs, it would be a victory of truth: Satyamev Jayate,” tweeted Gehlot in the morning.

On Thursday (August 13) Gehlot hugged it out with his former deputy Sachin Pilot, a gesture showing reconciliation between the two factions, during the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting at his residence. At the meeting it was decided that the Congress will move a vote of confidence in the Assembly on Friday.

The BJP, which so far had been silent on the political turmoil in the state, surprised everyone by announcing that it would move a no-confidence motion against the Congress government in the special Assembly session.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Thursday issued a whip for the second time to six of its MLAs to vote against the Congress if a no confidence motion is moved.

Gehlot now has the support of at least 107 MLAs while the BJP has 72 legislators in the 200-member house.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on