Chief Minister Kumaraswamy to face floor test in assembly on Thursday

BJP, Karnataka, MLA, The Federal, English news website
Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy during the Assembly Session, at Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru on Friday. Photo: PTI

The BJP in Karnataka on Monday (July 15) sought to move a no-confidence motion against the Congress-JDS government, which is battling for survival after 16 lawmakers of the ruling coalition resigned from the Assembly.

Meanwhile, former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah said that discussion on vote of confidence will be taken up on Thursday at 11 am in Karnataka Assembly.

The BJP has issued a notice to Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar during the Business Advisory Committee meeting attended by party leader BS Yeddyurappa seeking to move the no confidence motion, party state general secretary C T Ravi said. “Yes, we have given a notice to move a no-confidence motion,” he said.

Also Read: K’taka MLAs write to Mumbai Police, say don’t want to meet Cong leaders


As many as 16 MLAs — 13 from the Congress and three from JD(S) — have resigned from the Assembly while two independent MLAs, S Shankar and H Nagesh, have withdrawn their support to the coalition government headed by H D Kumaraswamy.

The disgruntled MLAs, who have turned against the government, are camping in Mumbai.
The Speaker is yet to accept their resignations as the matter is pending before the Supreme Court which will hear the case again on Tuesday. The MLAs have not turned up for the Assembly proceedings, which began on Friday last.

The Apex Court on Monday agreed to hear a plea of five more rebel Congress MLAs along with the pending petition of 10 legislators seeking a direction to the Karnataka Assembly Speaker to accept their resignation.

Also Read: Karnataka crisis: SC agrees to hear plea of 5 more rebel MLAs on Tuesday

With en masse resignations, the government has been pushed to the brink of collapse. In a surprise move amid the existential crisis faced by his government, Kumaraswamy had also on Friday announced he would seek a trust vote to end the confusion caused by resignations of rebel MLAs while asserting he was “ready for everything”.

The ruling coalition’s total strength is 116 (Congress-78, JD(S)-37 and BSP-1), besides the Speaker. With the support of the two independents, the BJP has 107 MLAs in the 224-member House, where the half-way mark is 113. If the resignations of the 16 MLAs are accepted, the coalitions tally will be reduced to 100.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on