BJP, Congress release first list of candidates for Jharkhand polls

The BJP released 52 names of the candidates who will be contesting in the Jharkhand Assembly Polls, while Congress, announced five names. Photo: PTI

Ahead of the Jharkhand Assembly election, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress announced the first list of names of the candidates on Sunday (November 10).

The first list of the BJP comprises the names of candidates for 52 seats out of total 81. Chief Minister Raghubar Das will contest from Jamshedpur East and BJP state unit president Laxman Giluwa from Chakradharpur. The Congress too released its first list of five candidates for the upcoming state polls.

AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad

BJP working president JP Nadda took a dig at the previous government and said that five years back Jharkhand was known for corruption. “Five years back, Jharkhand was known for corruption and instability. Today, under the leadership of Raghubar Das, Jharkhand is known for stability and development. Corruption has been brought down and the state is moving towards development.”

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had recently announced a pre-poll alliance and former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren will be the alliance’s CM face.

The Congress will contest 31 seats out of 81 seats in the Jharkhand assembly, RJD will contest on seven seats and the largest chunk of the alliance share has gone to the JMM, which will contest elections on 43 seats. The last date for filing nominations is November 13.

The Jharkhand polls will be held in 5 phases starting from November 30 and the counting of votes will take place on December 23. The Model Code of Conduct is currently in force in the state. The five-year term of the state Assembly is set to expire on January 5, 2020.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on