K’taka speaker: Eight resignations not in order, five rebels given time

Rebel Congress and JD(S) MLAs addressing the media outside Rajbhavan. Photo: PTI.

The much-awaited decision of the speaker on the resignations of the Congress and JD(S) MLAs has come as a great relief to the ruling coalition. That is because he has ruled that out of the 13 resignations, eight are not in order and that he has given time to five of the rebel legislators.

The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) that met this morning to discuss ways and means to defuse the political crisis in Karnataka blamed the BJP for engineering the rebellion. CLP leader and former chief minister Siddaramaiah directly attacked PM Modi and Amit Shah for the crisis and blamed them for attempting to de-stabilise the state government. Siddaramaiah also issued a warning to the rebels by asking them to either return or be sacked.

The rebel MLAs who have refused to take back their resignations were taken to Pune from where they are all set to move to Goa in a special flight.

While one MLA had resigned last week, 11 more – eight from the Congress and three from the JD(S) – resigned on July 6. They were joined by two Independent MLAs – H Nagesh and R Shankar – who withdrew support from the government on Monday (July 8).

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, who has held the BJP responsible for orchestrating the crisis has assured that the government is safe and will survive the calamity.

In an attempt to control the damage, all Congress and JD(S) ministers resigned their posts, paving the way for a cabinet reshuffle.

    Get Breaking News and Latest Updates from India and around the world on thefederal.com