PM launches several crores worth projects in TN

Prime Minister Narendra Modi onSunday inaugurated the Chennai Metro Rail Phase-I extensionand laid the foundation stone for several others in differentsectors, including railways, in Tamil Nadu.

At a grand event at the Nehru Indoor Stadium here, heflagged off the 9.01 km service from Washermanpet to WimcoNagar in North Chennai, completed at a cost of Rs 3,770 crore.

Modi dedicated to the nation the Chennai BeachAttipattufourth line and the Railway electrification of VillupuramCuddalore-Mayiladuturai Thanjavur-Mayiladuturai-TiruvarurSingle Line Sections.


He also laid the foundation stone for the DiscoveryCampus of IIT Madras, which will be built at nearby Thaiyur atan estimated cost of Rs 1,000 crore in the first phase over anarea of 2 lakh sqm and the extension, renovation andmodernisation of the Grand Anicut Canal System.

Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit, Chief MinisterK Palaniswami, his deputy O Panneerselvam and other cabinetmembers, senior leaders of ruling AIADMK M Thambidurai, K PMunusamy and leaders from alliance parties participated in theevent.

The venue, the sprawling Nehru Stadium premises, andthe entire Periamet neighbourhood in the heart of the citycame under a three-layered security blanket.

Traffic diversions and heavy deployment of policepersonnel were made as part of security measures for the PrimeMinisters brief visit.

Several youngsters at the venue sported T-shirtshailing the chief minister and many from the audience raisedslogans praising Modi and Palaniswami.

Earlier, the Prime Minister arrived at the airporthere, and then flew in a chopper to INS Adyar from where hedrove to the function venue.

All along the way, a good number of supporters and thepublic turned up to greet the Prime Minister as artistesplayed traditional musical instruments to welcome him.

Modi waved at the people who waited on the kerb tohave a glimpse of the leader.

At the event, Modi, Palaniswami and Panneerselvam paidfloral tributes to the portraits of late chief ministers M GRamachandran (AIADMK founder) and J Jayalalithaa.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by The Federal staff and is auto-published from a syndicated feed.)

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on