Manipur bypolls: BJP leading in 2, Congress 1

The ruling BJP in Manipur wasahead in two seats while the Congress and an Independentcandidate were leading in one constituency each for whichbypolls were held on November 7.

According to early trends, BJP candidate Oinam LukhoiSingh was leading over his nearest rival Khuraijam Loken Singhof the National Peoples Party by 268 votes in the Wangoiseat.

In Saitu constituency, Ngamthang Haokip of the BJP wasahead of his nearest rival Lamtinthang Haokip of the Congressby 1,827 votes, as per the ECI website.

Congress candidate Moirangthem Hemanta Singh was aheadof his nearest rival Paonam Brojen Singh of the BJP by 675votes in the Wangjing Tentha seat.


In the Liong seat, Independent candidate Y Antas Khanwas leading over his nearest rival Independent candidate Mohd.

Abdul Nasir by 1,992 votes.

The by-polls held on November 7 were necessitatedafter Congress MLAs of these four seats resigned from theassembly and joined the ruling BJP.

The ruling BJP has contested in three seats andsupported an independent candidate in Lilong, while theCongress has fielded its nominees in all the fourconstituencies.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by The Federal staff and is auto-published from a syndicated feed.)