Thushar Vellappally to contest from Wayanad; Tharoor files nomination

The BJP believes that Thushar Vellapally will make things difficult for Rahul Gandhi forcing him to spend a lot of time campaigning for himself rather than for the party. Photo: Facebook

A quick wrap of the poll scene from across states.

Tamil Nadu

Two days after seizing ₹10 lakh from the residence of DMK treasurer Durai Murugan, the I-T officials secured crores of rupees from a cement factory godown in Vellore. The seized currencies, kept stuffed in cartons and sacks, were in the denomination of ₹200.

Incidentally, the godown is believed to be owned by a DMK functionary and close aide of Durai Murugan. A probe is on to ascertain if the money was meant for bribing the voters of the Vellore constituency where Durai Murugan’s son Kathir Anand is contesting on a DMK ticket


Meanwhile, Durai Murugan moved the Madras High Court, over the ongoing raids, stating that the search has prevented him and his son from campaigning for the polls. The petition is likely to come up for hearing on April 2.


Thushar Vellappally, President of Bharat Dharma Jana Sena, was announced as the NDA candidate from Wayanad. He will contest against Rahul Gandhi. Congress leader Shashi Tharoor filed his nomination from Thiruvananthapuram Parliamentary constituency on April 1.


Karnataka Legislative Assembly speaker KR Ramesh Kumar accepted the resignation of former Congress MLA Dr Umesh Jadhav. The latter had submitted his resignation from the membership of the State Legislative Assembly on March 4.


Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on April 1 said that Congress president Rahul Gandhi has refused to forge an alliance with the AAP for the Lok Sabha polls in the national capital. Talking to reporters at the airport in New Delhi, the AAP leader said he had met Gandhi recently and the Congress leader had refused to “join hands with the AAP”. Asked about Congress’ Delhi unit president Sheila Dikshit’s remarks that Kejriwal never approached her for an alliance, the Chief Minister said, “We have met Rahul Gandhi. Dikshit is not that important leader.”

Aam Aadmi Party wrote to the Election Commission over 24-hour channel ‘NAMO TV.’ The letter stated, “Can permission be granted to a party to have their own TV channel even after model code of conduct is enforced? If no permission was sought by ECI then what action has been taken?”

Uttar Pradesh

SP supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav filed his nomination from Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency on April 1. Ram Bhuwal Nishad, SP’s candidate from Gorakhpur LS seat, told ANI: “There was a deal. Nishad Party chief, Sanjay Nishad, took ₹50 crore from BJP to become a part of the party. He had a deal with Yogiji.”


Shiromani Akali Dal announced candidates for five LS constituencies in Punjab. Bibi Jagir Kaur from Khadoor Sahib, S Charanjit Singh Atwal from Jalandhar (Reserve), Prem Singh Chandumajra from Anandpur Sahib, S Surjit Singh Rakhra from Patiala and Darbara Singh Guru from Fatehgarh Sahib (Reserve).


BJP released the 14th list of candidates in Odisha for the Lok Sabha Elections. Three names were released. The fifth list, with 11 candidates, for the Odisha State Legislative Assembly was also released.


SC stayed EC notification for holding bypoll in Talala in Gujarat. A court in Gujarat had convicted Congress MLA Bhagvan Barad to two years imprisonment in an illegal mining case following which Gujarat Assembly speaker had declared the seat vacant and EC had declared bypolls there.

Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on