MDMK names former MP Ganeshamurthi as candidate for Erode LS seat

MDMK, Vaiko, Rajya Sabha, The Federal, English news website.
Vaiko expressed confidence that his nomination will be accepted, and that he has been informed that Elango will withdraw his papers in such an event. File photo: PTI

DMK’s ally Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) announced the candidature of former MP A Ganeshamurthi from the Erode constituency for the April 18 Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu on March 16.

Ganeshamurthi is a two-time MP who had represented Palani in the 12th Lok Sabha (1998) and Erode during the 2009-14 period. “Ganeshamurthi is contesting from Erode as MDMK candidate, on behalf of the DMK-led secular progressive alliance,” MDMK founder Vaiko said in a statement.

MDMK has been allotted the Erode constituency, even as DMK President MK Stalin has assured one Rajya Sabha seat to his party’s ally. Tamil Nadu has a total of 39 Lok Sabha seats.

AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad
Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on