DMK declares candidates for bypolls to 4 seats in TN

Stalin, DMK, AIADMK, Tamil Nadu
DMK chief, MK Stalin told mediapersons to wait and watch when asked if the DMK would move a no-confidence motion in the Assembly. Photo: PTI
The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on Saturday (April 13) declared its candidates for the four constituencies in Tamil Nadu, where bypolls are due on May 19. It has fielded Pongalur Palanisamy in Sulur, V Senthil Balaji (Aravakurichi), P Saravanan (Thiruparankundram) and MC Shanmugaiah (Ottapidaram). Counting for all four will be on May 23.
DMK had, on March 15, filed a petition in the Supreme Court (SC) claiming that the Election Commission (EC) is holding by-polls in only 18 constituencies in Tamil Nadu, and not in the three constituencies, namely – Ottapidaram, Tirupparankundrama, and Aravakurichi. The by-polls of these three constituencies were being withheld in view of pending election petitions before the Madras High Court.
In response to the petition, the top court had sought directions from the EC to notify by-polls and publish the schedule of elections in the three constituencies. On April 9, EC announced that polling in Ottapidaram, Thiruparankundram, Aravakurichi, and Sulur will be held on May 19, and results will be declared on May 23. In the 235-member Assembly, the AIADMK has 115 members followed by DMK 88 and Congress eight, besides others. As many as 21 seats are still vacant.
AdvertisementChoco-pie Ad
Get breaking news and latest updates from India
and around the world on